Review: It Must’ve Been something He Wrote


NAME: It Must’ve Been Something He wrote

AUTHOR: Nikita Deshpande

GENRE: Coming of age, Romance/ Comedy, YA fiction

RATINGS: 5/5

BLURB:
When obsessive book-lover (ahem, book snob) Amruta – Ruta – Adarkar arrives in Delhi to work as a marketing executive for Parker-Hailey’s Publishing, she learns that the world of books is not as cozy as she’d imagined. Her eccentric taskmaster of a boss expects marketing miracles to happen on shoestring budgets and in record time, and surviving the job (and the city) means she’ll have to master the local art of jugaad really fast. Worst of all, she’s stuck being a publicist for Jishnu Guha, protein-shake lover, serial selfie-taker, and bestselling author of seven cheesy romance novels, the kind she wouldn’t be caught dead reading. As Ruta struggles between work and life in a new city, she finds, much to her annoyance, that she needs Jishnu’s help more than she cares to admit. But with her own parents getting a divorce, can Ruta dare to fall in love, especially with someone who’s so impossibly different?

This book was kindly sent to me by Hachette India in exchange for a review thank you guys, I absolutely loved it!

I loveddd this book to Pluto and back and here’s why you all should read it!

First things first this wasn’t just some stupid love story about two teenagers who fall in love as soon as they see each other, no it wasn’t! It’s about a hateful relationship between the protagonists slowly turns into LOVE. And that’s why I really enjoyed this book. It’s a publisher and writer love story. For bookworms like me guys go read this book right now, it tells us the inside story about how a publishing house “Parker Hailey’s” works and just how HARD the publishers and the writer work to bring out their books! Hats off to all the writers and their publishers.

The start was beautiful and I immediately came to Love the protagonist Amruta, she’s like totally me except I don’t get angry just that quickly but then besides this she was TOTALLY MEEE!!!! Amruta wanted t write her own stuff so badly but she believed that you cannot do that without  degree. So she starts working at a publishing house to earn some money and fund the education/course herself! Amruta hates stupid, cheesy love stories and cliched characters, etc. So when she bumps into Jishnu Guha she startshating him and thinks that what he writes is utter rubbish and that he definitely does not deserve to be so famous or his books to sell so many copies.

The story was inspiring, interesting and really entertaining. The jokes were really funny and once in a while when I let out a laugh my sister stared at me as though I was mental….anyways that is why I added Comedy to the genre of this book. A tale of the coming of age story and fun-filled and romantic comedy!The story evolves the entire time and well, it was way too difficult to put down this book and I ended up staying awake at night reading and devouring it. I’m quite proud of myself to have finished this book in just 4 sittings Yay!! GO ME!!

The book left me buzzing with happiness and good vibes. It actually was pretty cute and sweet at the end and I was totally rooting for the main couple! I felt happy as I went to bed with a smile on my face!!! Also I loved the fact that Amruta was kinda  feminist cause I think it’s really important to have gender equality in today’s society! I loved the sarcastic remarks that Ruta kept making, ah I totally could be besties with her!

The debut author Nikita Despande has done an exemplary job for her very first novel. It seems as though she has years of experience writing books. I can’t wait to meet her a signing or any book event! Go give this book a read guys, I’m so sur that you’ll like it!I can’t wait to read the next novel by this amazing and talented author.

 

Leave a Reply

